272 years of Welcome
Established in 1743, this building has been in continuous use as a tavern, inn, dance hall, pub and restaurant for more than 272 years—and it has stories to tell!
It’s been on the right side of history again and again. Many a tankard was raised to the Continental cause here during the Revolution, when it was called The Trooper. Washington and Lafayette are rumored to have stopped here, and Lafayette’s troops billeted here after the Battle of Barren Hill in 1777. (By then, it had already been serving ale and a warm welcome to travelers and neighbors for more than 35 years.)
Known as “The Farmers and Drovers Hotel” during the 1800s, the Inn offered extensive sheds to weather livestock as it was herded down the Ridge and Germantown roads. At this time, it also became a stop on the Underground Railroad, with a tunnel (now sealed off, but still existing) stretching to the General Lafayette Hotel and then on to St. Peter’s cemetery.
By the early 1900s, dances were held on the 3rd floor, with a fiddler supplying the tunes, while gambling entertained gentlemen on the 1st floor. (The feelings of the overnight guests whose rooms were sandwiched on the 2nd floor? We can only imagine.)
The name Brittingham’s came into play with popular local owners Frank and Nancy Brittingham, who established an Irish theme in the 1970s. It was so beloved and successful that the subsequent owners, first a trio of retired Naval aviators and then Mike and Susan Allan, retained both name and concept.
Extensive but respectful, our 2013 renovations have taken this marvelous history into full account. We’ve kept the thick, ancient walls, mullioned windows and some charming woodwork and nooks while creating modern spaces that accommodate a vibrant new sensibility.
It’s Brittingham’s goal to ensure this grand old Inn sees another 272 years of laughter, conviviality and welcome—starting today, with you.